Adoption Survivor

dealing with it

New Year / New Life

with 2 comments

Best Wishes for a great new year and years to come!

I’m sitting in my almost empty fragrantly cedar cabin in Washington
State, after having given away a lifetime of possessions, my goods
reduced to two suitcases full of stupid clothes I would rather replace
in Korea if I had the cash, and an instrument I can’t yet play. Last
day before I mop the floors, turn in my key, and spend three weeks at
my daughter’s house prior to boarding the plane for TESOL training in
Thailand. After the training, I’ll spend a week in Seoul at Koroot,
doing the requisite orphanage tour, traveling to the nearby mountain
town of Wonju as personal identity sleuth, and then on to my new
teaching position in Anyang.

As I sit here avoiding cleaning the oven and contemplating this life,
it’s quite stirring to think about the future and the past and the
epic in between. Almost 3 years of mystery followed by 42 years of
what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, followed by starting over
halfway around the world in a place I know nothing about yet feel I
know on a cellular level, is almost too incredible for me to
comprehend. Do you ever think that way? Do you ever think about how
unbelievable and incredible this odyssey is we’ve been sent on?

Transracial, transcultural, intercountry adoption feels like a brief
interruption of an inviolable destiny. I blinked and I have a head
full of gray hair, but I feel somehow like I am a 3 years young old
soul, picking up where I left off.

In this generous moment, I want to thank Holt for f’g up my life so
badly. It’s made this homecoming all the more sweet.

I’m just grinning ear to ear and bursting with love love love love
love for all of you and wanting to wish you half of what I feel right now.

Holt orphan 4708

Written by girl4708

January 1, 2009 at 3:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just wanted to leave a brief comment to wish you luck — good luck with your personal identity sleuthing, good luck with the teaching, and good luck with the homecoming in general and all that comes with it.

    Peace.

    Sang-Shil

    January 1, 2009 at 3:49 am

  2. [Do you ever think about how unbelievable and incredible this odyssey is we’ve been sent on?]

    Yes. Some days I still can’t believe I can connect to my Mama and Baba just through a computer system, or that I’ve heard their voices, or that I even have pictures of them at all… and that most importantly, I will get the chance to go back, too!

    Good luck and let us know how it goes, girl4708!

    Mei-Ling

    January 2, 2009 at 4:09 am


Leave a Reply

