Adoption Survivor

dealing with it

Austin at the Orphanage

leave a comment »

So I’m learning Korean.  Middle-aged woman with early onset altzheimer’s attempting to learn a TOTALLY foreign tongue.   Or IS IT???  I DID hear it for almost three years of my life and nine months in the womb.

Anyway, at the language program I signed up for I ran across one of the instructor’s blogs, where he volunteers at a Korean orphanage getting to know the children.  I haven’t read the entire thing yet, but here is one post:   More Background…and a video!

I appreciated the comments – I think if more people knew about adoption in Korean culture, westerners would not be so quick to rescue them.  It is too simple a solution to a very complex problem.

Oh, and btw.  THIS orphan is moving to Korea to live for a year or two.  There’s a lot of us so-called orphans.

Orphan.  The dictionary definition doesn’t begin to describe what it means.

Written by girl4708

October 15, 2008 at 2:47 am

Posted in Infinite Longing

Leave a Reply

