Adoption Survivor

dealing with it

Worth listening

Once again, Dr. Gabor Mate brings humanity back to patient care:  this time illustrating the deep impact stress during our formative years can affect our emotional/physical well-being.

Mate speaks from his own experience, medical research, and in his work with Vancouver addicts.  However, the reason I am posting this is because I stumbled across these interviews with addicts filmed by Beth B. twenty years ago, and I think hearing addicts speak for themselves is just as convincing.  I was struck by how I could intimately relate to most of the interviewees and how listening to their stories brings new dimension to them as human beings and not just statistics.  And though I’m not an addict, I feel their stories are very parallel to adoptee stories.  One of the subjects even is an adoptee.

I think this is one of the most important films I’ve seen in a long time.  The artistic intro meant to give the film gravity is a bit long, but your patience will be rewarded as the interviews themselves are extremely engaging. I’m posting the first of the 4 segments, as it is easy to find the trail to the rest.

Written by girl4708

January 24, 2011 at 3:25 am

Posted in Infinite Longing

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

